Nuo birželio 6 d. II-VI 10:00-17:00
Further working hours will be adjusted
The museum was opened on 16 September 1969 in the building of the Nida Evangelical Lutheran Church, the activities of which were suspended at that time. The exhibition displayed in the church showed the formation of the Curonian Spit and the Curonian Lagoon, local people, nature, trades, etc.
Once the church was returned to the faithful, the exhibition was dismantled in 1989. An exhibition of trades of the inhabitants of the Curonian Spit was housed in rented premises between 1995 and 2002. In 2002, the museum moved to a new building on Pamario street in Nida. The new exhibition opened in 2002. It presents the traditions and trades of the inhabitants of the Curonian Spit (hunting crows for food, fishing gear and boat models). A mannequin demonstrating a peculiar fishing technique, called "bumbinimas" (fishing on ice for the European smelt), is particularly interesting to visitors.
A highlights of the exhibition is a licence issued to the owner of Nida Post Office Friedrich Casimir Kuwert in 1785 to brew beer in his inn in the post. The documents, photos and maps tell the visitors about the European post road which ran along the Curonian Spit.
The museum also exhibits findings from the Nida Stone Age settlement, which has been found in the western part of the Parnidis Dune. It presents Nida Post Office when it was part of the Great Postal Road (between 1745 and 1833), exhibits a copy of a unique document found in the Prussian Privy State Archives of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation by the historian Nijolė Strakauskaitė, proving that in 1745 Nida played a significant role in transport connections between Marienburg, Karaliaučius and Riga. The museum’s visitors are also introduced to the daily life and routine of the Nida resort, to the activities of Nida Gliding School and a family history of the Nida-based Froese family.
The museum organises exhibitions, meetings, lectures and book presentations.